I started Insurance Blog by Chris™ because I have a passion for insurance. Here at the blog, our job is to educate and inform people about the best insurance for them. Since then, we have grown into national brands with a large team of researchers helping people understand all forms of insurance.

Full Bio →

Written by

Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD&D insurance as well. She has worked for small health insu...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Rachael Brennan
Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Apr 19, 2021

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance companies please enter your ZIP code on this page to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by insurance experts.

What’s New in 2021 for Pruco Life Insurance

Pruco Life, or Prudential Financial, is an insurance company with over 140 years managing wealth for individuals and organizations.

How Has Covid-19 Affected Pruco Life Insurance?

Since the onset of the Covid-19 pandemic, around 46% of Americans have found themselves in increasing financial trouble. In response, Pruco created online resources to combat this.

Prudential donated medical supplies and pledged $1.5 million early on in the Covid-19 pandemic. Additionally, the company waived rent during April-May 2020 for small business tenants.

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

New Products or Changes

FlexGuard, a retirement policy of Prudential’s, increased its product range, adding exchange-traded funds (EFTs), the Invesco QQQ ETF, and the BlackRock iShares Russell 2000 ETF.

Prudential also partnered with a caregiver support service. Pruco acknowledged that the Covid-19 pandemic put “pressure on an already challenged caregiving system,” and Wellthy’s suite of services was essential.

NeuroFlow is a new behavioral health and care management tool created to assist Pruco’s disability insurance claimants.

Pruco Life Insurance in the News

In 2020, Pruco Life received a 3.6 rating out of 5, mainly thanks to its range of coverage offers, and its flexibility that it offers customers with their packages. Additionally, it made the top 15 in the Best Overall Health Insurance Companies of 2021.

Investopedia named it the Best Overall Life Insurance Company of 2021, with key factors being Pruco’s “robust online resources and tools” and its dedication to finding its customers the best insurance plans for them. 

Prudential Financial has signed a partnership with the US Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) to provide veterans, service members, and their families with financial resources. The wellness resources are available through Veterans Affairs in March 2021.

2021 Latest Pruco Life Insurance Reviews

As you might expect, customer reviews for Pruco Life vary. Here’s what a range of consumers have to say.

Reviews of Pruco Life Insurance are varied on Consumer Affairs. Some customers report not receiving calls back and getting “the runaround” from representatives. Others say that it’s tough to figure out who they need to speak with about a specific policy.

On the other hand, some consumers report that it’s easy to update their allocations. Pricing and the amount of insurance available at specific tiers was a highlight, and many consumers felt confident choosing Pruco. 

Affordable pricing was one clear perk among reviewers, with one customer saying they recommended the insurance to their family and friends. More than one client of Pruco also explained that the servicing agents are “knowledgeable and helpful,” calling the service “great” overall. 

Clearly, it depends who you ask as to whether Pruco is worth the investment or not. However, it’s worth noting that Better Business Bureau ratings are almost abysmally low, though there are relatively few available. 

However, most complaints are addressed by the company, which means the organization cares about resolving their customers’ concerns. Overall, the negative feedback echoed that of Consumer Affairs reviewers; poor service and lackluster coverage were a few concerns.

We recently obtained a life insurance approval from Pruco Life Insurance for a client of mine in AZ with a very unique case. I am going to give you the details of how this happened!

Pruco Life Insurance Company of New Jersey is owned by the much larger Prudential Life Insurance Company.

Enter your ZIP code below to view companies that have cheap insurance rates.

 Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Case study: Kidney Disease & Pruco Life Insurance Company

While this client had been declined by West Coast Life, Lincoln Benefit, and every other insurance company we brought the case to refused to offer, Pruco Life Ins came through with an offer.

Here are the details of the case. Of course, I will not include any names or identifying remarks for confidentiality, but all medical details are accurate.

Below I’ve pasted a copy of the trail offer request I sent out on behalf of my client to over 30 carriers to find an offer.

As you read the details, ask yourself if any agents you know would go to such great lengths to obtain life insurance for an individual who has already been declined by two other companies.

Pruco Life Insurance Company Reviews – Summary

I have a male PI, nearest age 69, non-smoker. He is 5’6, 165 lbs. He was postponed by West Coast Life in Feb. 2011 due to elevated creatinine in exam results.

We believe we have a good story to tell as it relates to his kidney disease since the disease was caused by cardiac bypass surgery as explained below, rather than progressive, chronic kidney disease, so his prognosis is stable.

Please indicate whether an offer is possible. Needs $1,000,000 10 year term for an SBA loan.  Thank you.

Bypass Surgery

In Feb 2007 had a coronary artery bypass graft done, 4 vessels, for angina, although he did not have a heart attack. No recurrent symptoms of angina.

Original cath showed a left anterior descending artery of 95% blockage, circumflex of 100%, and RCA of 90% distal stenosis.

Adenosine nuclear scan 2008 was negative and showed a left ventricular ejection fraction of 55%. No evidence of ischemia or infarction. An EKG has been performed annually.

RELATED: Check Sample Life Insurance Rates by Age (No Personal Info Required)

Kidney Disease

During the bypass surgery, my client’s kidneys were damaged and have been operating under GFRs in a range indicative of stage 3 kidney disease since the surgery, with his two most recent levels at 42 and then 47 in Jan 2011.

BUN has also been elevated with most recent readings at 26 in Jan 2011 and 39 in Feb 2011. Creatinine ratio has been elevated but stable at 1.81 in Aug 2009 and most recently at 1.78 in July 2011.

Most recent UA also showed protein – negative, blood – negative, urine protein/creat – .05 mg/mg.

The nephrologist states that the disease is stable and will remain so as he has controlled his risk factors of build, hypertension, and hyperlipidemia.

In one quote, he states, “Given the absence of proteinuria, stable GFR and BP control, would anticipate the slow progression of CKD.”

There is mention in his hospital discharge notes in March 2007 of a new-onset of Diabetes type II with a1c at 6.7, but this may have been an anomaly, as he isn’t on any diabetes meds, and most recent a1c was 5.3.

In July 2011, the primary physician indicates there is “no evidence of diabetes”.

Other notes from Primary Physician from July 2011 include:

“Following the surgery, my client has done remarkably well-addressing risk factors of hyperglycemia, exercise, and hyperlipidemia”…

In summary, Mr. XX is doing exceptionally well exercising, maintaining his weight, and is in compliance with his present medications.

The problems noted should not present a problem in the years ahead and I anticipate a long and fruitful life.”

His primary physician also notes the bypass surgery as the likely cause for creatinine elevation.

Medications:

Coumadin 4.5 mg, Fenofibrate Micronized 134 mg 1X day, Simvastatin, and Lisinopril.

RELATED: 5 Critical Tips You Must Know Before Buying Life Insurance

Pruco Life Ins – Credits Given

No tobacco for 35+ years.

Great family history – no deaths from any disease prior to age 70. Mother lived to 94; father lived to 95; has a 75-year-old sibling in good health

Lifts weights and cardiovascular exercise 3X per week

Excellent driving history

High-income earner, high net worth, 30+ year experience as a skilled nursing facility administrator and business executive

Happily married

Minimal to no alcohol use. Very conscious of diet in the last 3 years.

Excellent Cholesterol: Total 113, Chol/HDL ratio: 2.9

Conclusion Of Pruco Life Insurance Company Reviews

I realize stage 3 kidney disease is very serious and grounds for some companies to decline, but I think we have a good story to tell here.

Dr. David Miller, an MD and close friend of mine, explained to me that since the kidney disease was caused by the surgery as a one-time event rather than due to chronic kidney failure, the likelihood is much greater that they will remain functioning at current levels.

Given my client’s excellent control of risk factors, his doctors all indicate he has a great prognosis.”

Final Thoughts

We ended up getting a substandard offer from Pruco Life Insurance Company of New Jersey, but we were thrilled that they were willing to offer at all based on the stage 3 kidney disease and elevated kidney function levels.

Please understand that I am in no way implying that Pruco Life Ins routinely approves applicants with kidney disease, but I would like to publicly thank them for coming through for my client.

If you need life insurance and have a health risk such as kidney disease.